The meaning of the name is “long lasting between heaven and earth”; construction of this garden started in the Ming dynasty; it has changed owner many times, and has seen both splendour and decay. After the Government funded its restoration in 1953, its original grandeur was restored.
The garden comprises of four sections; its middle section was originally named “Hanbi Mountain Villa”, and was the garden’s quintessential part.The layout of this section was based on mountains and ponds. It was surrounded by mountains, rocks, buildings and pavilions, and had many long corridors and bridges penetrating its landscape. The western section was based on large rockeries; it gave a rough feeling, and it had mountains clad with maple trees. The northern section had a view of natural mountain villages, using a bamboo picked fence enclosing a small garden of miniature trees with many famous species. The eastern section had many magnificent and spacious halls, pavilions and corridors; it also had large and small rockeries. All these formed a splendid garden area with alternating spaces, each with its own characteristics. This was particularly true of the courtyard built along “the Cloud Capped Peak” – a famous rock of south-east China which makes a deep impression.
The entire garden is connected by corridors; walking along these many pavilions, verandas and terraces, strange rocks and clear streams, famous trees and special flowers; forming many small and large courtyards can be observed: A garden in a garden, a view in a view, making one forget to return; the Lingering Garden is truly a famous south-eastern garden.
Leave A Reply